If you’re thinking of taking a car with you to go out for a drink, it’s best to consider this question first: Will I be able to afford the consequences if I get caught driving while intoxicated? This is a good question to reflect on as paying for the price for a DUI arrest is not easy. Getting caught driving while under the influence of alcohol is something you need to avoid as much as possible as it can cost you a whole lot of money to pay for fees which can really hurt your finances in the long run.
Thanks to groups that support DUI laws, fines and fees for DUI have increased over the years and the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit has been lowered from .10 to .08 which means that the only way to ever avoid a DUI arrest is to not drive at all when you’ve had alcohol.
So what are the driver’s responsibility fees after DUI? The main fine for first offenders can range from $320 to $1200 depending on the state. This increases overtime for repeat offenders. Your car will get towed and you will be asked to pay as much as $250 to retrieve your car from local authorities once you’ve finished settling your DUI case.
You’ll also lose your driver’s license temporarily which means that you aren’t allowed to use your main mode of transportation, your car, to get to your destination. Finding another way to get anywhere such as the bus, subway or a taxi will have to do until your license has been reinstated. Most states also require offenders to complete a DUI school and assessment program before they can get their license back. These program’s prices can range from $1,500-$2,500.
It can be especially expensive for repeat offenders as several state legislatures have passed laws requiring them mandatory jail time. Contesting that kind of penalty would mean you’d have to hire a lawyer which means more money. Their fees can cost $2000-$25,000 depending on the nature of the arrest. First offenders aren’t safe either. After their arrest, they are required to shell out for bail which can cost around $150-$2500. If you don’t have that kind of amount on hand, you will have to use a bond company which can be even more expensive. Some states such as Michigan have more excessive responsibility fees than others. If you would like to learn more about these excessive fees in Michigan, visit The Clark Law Office and their East Lansing DUI attorney website.
The fees mentioned above do not include other expenses you may have to cover as a result from a DUI arrest. If there was injury or death involved in the arrest, you will be held mostly liable for the expenses for the recovery from the accident. Auto insurance premiums could increase from $5,000 to $10,000. For three time offenders, there’s the possibility of having felony penalties which means losing some civil rights such as voting and owning a weapon.
The grave offenders might even be required to have a car interlock device installed inside their cars wherein if alcohol is detected upon blowing into the machine, the car does not start. This device alone can cost as much as $200 to install and $80 per month to maintain.
These penalties are a means for the government to emphasize how serious they are against their stand on drinking while driving. It’s not only to avoid casualties from the accident caused by DUI’s but also to promote responsible behavior while driving.